Théâtre des Champs Elysées Mai 1913 (2013)

This suite follows the aesthetic concept of Static Music. The Théâtre des Champs Elysées was opened in 1913 and in May of the same year it provided space for three important music premieres. The pieces were an opera by Fauré called Penelope, Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring and Debussy’s Jeux.


A collection of photography can represent instants of a certain time and context, and in this suite the same idea is produced but with ‘musical instants’, fragments of sound expanded for a indefinite duration to represent a moment in time. Thus, three ‘instants’ have been selected for each composition, representing an important time and place in the history of music. This suite was composed exactly one hundred years after the event, as a way of expressing a historical homage.

IV – Le Sacre du Printemps, 1st Instant

VI – Le Sacre du Printemps, 3rd Instant


Sonority Details

The instants were subjectively selected from original recordings and stretched to sound endlessly. The original composed sonority has been borrowed and used as a ‘musical collage’ to produce an original composition.

Instants Location


I – Jeux, 1st Instant
Rehearsal Number 29, 2nd bar, 2nd beat


II – Jeux, 2nd Instant
Rehearsal Number 32


III – Jeux, 3rd Instant
Rehearsal Number 81


IV – Le Sacre du Printemps, 1st Instant
Part I – A Kiss of the Earth, Rehearsal Number 1


V – Le Sacre du Printemps, 2nd Instant
Part I – The Augurs of Spring, Dances of the Young Girls
Rehearsal Number 1


VI – Le Sacre du Printemps, 3rd Instant
Part II – The Exalted Sacrifice, Introduction
Rehearsal Number 80


VII – Penelope, 1st Instant
Act I: Scene IV, bar 148


VIII – Penelope, 2nd Instant
Act III: Scene VII, bar 15, 2nd beat


IX – Penelope, 3rd Instant
Act III: Scene VII, bar 25


Production Date

This suite was composed in October 2013 and was only released online for public experience in May 2014.